The main higher education programs, as part of the regional ecosystem of research and innovation of the Emilia-Romagna Region, are offered by the Universities and by the Higher Technical Institutes (ITS) and AFAM-Higher Artistic, Musical and Dance Training with different types of programs.

For more information on the higher education system in Italy:



The regional university system is made up of six Universities offering undergraduate and postgraduate courses, masters, specialization courses, and doctoral courses. Every year public funds are allocated for University scholarships.

University of Bologna (with campuses in Cesena, Forlì, Ravenna and Rimini)

The University of Bologna has very ancient origins that indicate it as the first University in the Western world. The excellence of teaching, research at the forefront, presence in the territory, international openness, and information services: in these and in many other areas, the Alma Mater promotes and continues today on the path of innovation.

For more information:

University of Modena and Reggio Emilia

The University is located in the two cities of Modena and Reggio Emilia, among the national leaders in education and industrial fields. They boast strong and long-lasting relationships with local companies, including world famous automotive producers and producers of typical products such as balsamic vinegar or Parmigiano Reggiano.

For more information:

University of Ferrara

Ferrara is a student-friendly university city, listed by UNESCO among World Heritage Sites. Ferrara University campus offers a varied educational offer suitable for facing the new challenges of a globalized world.

For more information:

University of Parma

The University of Parma promotes the creation, transfer and progress of knowledge to meet the needs of higher education and research of the companies or of the industrial sector, including at international level. The city is also home to the European College which aims to train experts on European Union issues and to provide a unique contribution to the construction of a European and international society.

For more information:

Cattolica University (Piacenza branch)

The Catholic University of Sacro Cuore (UCSC), founded in 1921, is a private Italian University, with headquarters in Milan and other offices in several Italian cities: Brescia, Cremona, Piacenza and Rome. The Piacenza branch offers study programs in the agro-food and socio-economic and legal fields, and in formal-training and education.

For more information:

Polytechnic University of Milan (Piacenza branch)

The Polytechnic University of Milan is one of the most prestigious universities in Italy and one of the most recognized in Europe in the scientific and technological field, founded in 1863. The fields of study and research include three macro-areas including engineering, architecture and industrial design. It is based in the city of Milan and has decentralized branches in several Italian cities and in the city of Shanghai, China, in collaboration with Tongji University. In Emilia-Romagna the headquarters of the Polytechnic University is located in Piacenza.

For more information:



The Higher Technical Institutes (Istituti Tecnici Superiori-ITS) are top-class centers highly specialized in technology, closely linked to the production system, which aim is to train high level technicians in strategic areas for economic development and competitiveness in Italy.

They offer two-year post-diploma courses and issue a diploma of Higher Technician-V° EQF level, valid at national level, which also allows access to public sector selections and to university.

For more information on ITS in Italy: 



In Emilia-Romagna there are seven ITS foundations, based in the main cities of the region.

Discover the educational offer:



The Institutes of Higher Artistic and Musical Education (AFAM) carry out training, production and research activities in the fields of visual arts, music, dance, drama and design.

The AFAM educational system is divided into three cycles:

  • The first cycle consists of the first level Academic Diploma courses (three-year duration), which requires a secondary school diploma or another qualification obtained abroad, and an admission exam
  • The second cycle consists of the second level Academic Diploma courses (two-year duration), which requires a first level academic diploma or another qualification obtained abroad, and an admission exam
  • The third cycle consists of academic diploma courses in research training (minimum three-year duration), which requires a second level academic diploma or other recognized foreign qualification.

For more information:

  • created by

    logo ART-ER

  • supported by

    logo RER